## Washington State Employment Security Department

Labor Market and Economic Analysis



## Sixteen Counties on the Distressed Areas List for 2007

5/2/2007

The Distressed Areas List for 2007 identifies all counties with three year average unemployment rates equal to or greater than 120 percent of the statewide unemployment rate. All fifteen counties on last year's distressed list *remain* on this year's list. Franklin County has been *added*, bringing the total up to sixteen counties on the current list.

## Three Year Average Unemployment Rates Used To Determine Distressed Areas <sup>1</sup>

Washington State	Three Year Average Unemployment Rate (Jan 2004-Dec 2006) 5.6	Distressed Area: Unemployment Rate Greater Than or Equal to 6.7
Adams County	7.0	Adams
Asotin County	5.6	
Benton County	5.8	
Chelan County	6.0	
Clallam County	6.5	
Clark County	6.5	
Columbia County	8.2	Columbia
Cowlitz County	7.4	Cowlitz
Douglas County	5.6	
Ferry County	9.8	Ferry
Franklin County	7.3	Franklin
Garfield County	5.5	
Grant County	7.4	Grant
Grays Harbor County	7.6	Grays Harbor
Island County	6.0	
Jefferson County	5.6	
King County	4.7	
Kitsap County	5.2	
Kittitas County	6.0	
Klickitat County	8.0	Klickitat
Lewis County	7.6	Lewis
Lincoln County	6.2	
Mason County	6.6	
Okanogan County	7.2	Okanogan
Pacific County	7.1	Pacific
Pend Oreille County	8.1	Pend Oreille
Pierce County	6.0	
San Juan County	4.4	
Skagit County	6.0	
Skamania County	7.7	Skamania

Snohomish County	5.2	
Spokane County	5.7	
Stevens County	7.7	Stevens
Thurston County	5.1	
Wahkiakum County	7.1	Wahkiakum
Walla Walla County	5.8	
Whatcom County	5.1	
Whitman County	4.3	
Yakima County	7.6	Yakima

<sup>1</sup> Prepared in cooperation with the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Washington State Employment Security Department Labor Market and Economic Analysis Branch May 2, 2007

benchmark: March 2006