Washington State Employment Security Department

Labor Market and Economic Analysis



Nineteen Counties on the Distressed Areas List for 2009

4/17/2009

The Distressed Areas List for 2009 identifies all counties with three year average unemployment rates equal to or greater than 120 percent of the statewide unemployment rate. All eighteen counties on last year's distressed list *remain* on this year's list. Clark County has been *added*, bringing the total up to nineteen counties on the current list.

Three Year Average Unemployment Rates Used To Determine Distressed Areas ¹

	Three Year Average Unemployment Rate	Distressed Area: Unemployment Rate Greater Than or Equal to
Washington State	4.9	5.9
Adams County	6.1	Adams
Asotin County	5.0	
Benton County	5.2	
Chelan County	5.2	
Clallam County	6.2	Clallam
Clark County	6.1	Clark
Columbia County	7.4	Columbia
Cowlitz County	7.0	Cowlitz
Douglas County	5.0	
Ferry County	8.6	Ferry
Franklin County	6.4	Franklin
Garfield County	4.8	
Grant County	6.2	Grant
Grays Harbor County	7.2	Grays Harbor
Island County	5.2	
Jefferson County	5.1	
King County	4.0	
Kitsap County	4.7	
Kittitas County	5.3 7.0	Klickitat
Klickitat County		
Lewis County	7.3	Lewis
Lincoln County	5.4 6.2	Mason
Mason County	6.4	
Okanogan County		Okanogan
Pacific County	6.9	Pacific
Pend Oreille County	7.6	Pend Oreille
Pierce County	5.2 3.6	
San Juan County Skagit County	3.6 5.2	
Skamania County	7.3	Skamania
Chamaria County	1.0	Okamania

Snohomish County	4.6	
Spokane County	5.1	
Stevens County	7.3	Stevens
Thurston County	4.7	
Wahkiakum County	6.8	Wahkiakum
Walla Walla County	5.0	
Whatcom County	4.6	
Whitman County	4.0	
Yakima County	6.6	Yakima